It’s Not What You Think

Web [version excursion]

I’ve been trying to imagine what life was like before the whole world wide web. It’s difficult now. It’s frustrating because I lived half of my life without it, so why can’t I remember what it really felt like? I guess the only way would be to ignore it for a year.

But the web is a boon: it makes things easier, like banking, personal finances and shopping. Things which, I vaguely remember, used to be a drag.

I can hear all sorts of music when I want without having to buy a recording. That hasn’t just allowed me to explore more genres than I would’ve done but it’s saved me a lot of money too. There are also films and other entertainments readily at hand; much much better than the old telly business we had.

~ * * * ~

I remember there was a thing called Web 2.0 which implied things were going to be better; better than Web 1.0. Was that the case, or was it like Brexit here in the UK, a lot of idealistic promises, little delivery on those promises and too many disappointing and unpredicted consequences?

I don’t know if Web 2.0 had any great significance on what we have but my feelings on the web were better before than now.

By way of analogy, I went to the Tate Modern, London, when it was newly opened, and there was an installation which comprised a series of interconnected rooms. Viewers entered through a door, much like the street door of a house, and the rooms inside were decorated with objects significant to the artist. One room would contain a collection of old artefacts; the next would be empty apart from a worn armchair; the next would be a display of family photos; and so on until the final door led you back out into the museum. I don’t know about its artistic merit but it was a fascinating and fun experience, anticipating what you would see in the next space and so on.

So my early experience of the Web was very like that. I never knew what the next site would show me, but there were gems to be found all the time; time relatively better spent.

~ * * * ~

3 thoughts on “Web [version excursion]”

  1. The Internet we have today is way better than the dial up we had twenty odd years ago. I still remember if trying to use the phone that right ‘orrible screeching noise telling me someone was online! It used to remind me of flushing the toilet if someone was in the shower – oops!

    Like

    1. Oh, yes, the internet is better. I remember the phone line used to fail to connect sometimes, or it would just drop out. It’s the web which become less exciting for a surfer; it’s more useful, of course – for banking, shopping and looking things up – but I feel its magical time has passed.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment